Canadian Number Theory Association Conference

The Canadian Number Theory Association (CNTA) was founded in 1987 at the International Number Theory Conference at Laval University (Quebec city), for the purpose of enhancing and promoting learning and research in number theory, particularly in Canada. To advance these goals, the CNTA organizes bi-annual conferences that showcase new research in number theory, with the aim of exposing Canadian and international students and researchers to the latest developments in the field. The CNTA meetings are among the largest number theory conferences world-wide. A list of previous CNTA meetings can be found here.

The fifteenth CNTA went back to its birthplace and take place at Laval University on July 9-13, 2018.

Photo Album, Main poster, Conférence grand public poster, Ribenboim prize poster.
Slides and other documents can be found here.

List of participants here

Registration and funding

Participants are kindly invited to register here.

The registration fees are set as follows.
Before May 16th On or after May 16th
Students/postdocs 75CAD 95CAD
Researchers without individual grants 100CAD 140CAD
Researchers with individual grants 225CAD 285CAD
Registration fees cover drinks and snacks during breaks and a reception at Centre des congrès de Québec, which will take place on July 10.

Ribenboim Prize

We are pleased to announce that Maksym Radziwill from McGill University has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 Ribenboim Prize of the Canadian Number Theory Association.

The Ribenboim Prize, named in honour of Paulo Ribenboim, is awarded for distinguished research in Number Theory by a mathematician who is Canadian or has close connections to Canadian Mathematics. Previous winners are: Andrew Granville (1999), Henri Darmon (2002), Michael Bennett (2004), Vinayak Vatsal (2006), Adrian Iovita (2008), Valentin Blomer (2010), Dragos Ghioca (2012), Florian Herzig (2014), Jacob Tsimerman (2016). The 2018 award will be presented as part of the CNTA XV meeting, in Palais des Congrès on the 10th of July. As the tradition requires, during the award ceremony the winner will be invited to give a plenary talk.

Maksym completed his undergraduate degree at McGill, already working with his mentor Andrew Granville (then at the Université de Montréal). He then completed his doctorate at Stanford with K. Soundararajan and then, after a year at the Institute for Advanced Study, moved to Rutgers to work with Henryk Iwaniec. Finally, in 2016, he took up a tenure-track position at McGill. His area of specialization is analytic number theory, focusing on the distribution of prime numbers, multiplicative functions and related objects. This field relies on an extremely detailed deconstruction of special functions associated to arithmetic data like prime numbers and Galois representations, and contains one of the most important unresolved problem in mathematics, the Riemann hypothesis, one of the seven Millennium Problems identified by the Clay Mathematics Institute. Perhaps the most spectacular result of Radziwill is his recent work with Matomäki on multiplicative functions in short intervals (Annals of Math, 2016). This paper improves on hundreds of papers dealing with the same subject and created a sensation. In particular, this joint result led Maksym and Matomäki to be awarded of the prestigious Ramanujan Prize. Another fantastic result of Maksym is his joint work with K. Soundararajan on Moments and distribution of central values of quadratic twists of elliptic curves (Inventiones Math., in 2015). This paper contains remarkable theorems with application to the distribution of sizes of Tate-Shafarevich groups. So far his record demonstrates depth, versatility and productivity. It will be interesting to see how far he goes!


All talks will take place on the second floor in Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon at Laval University. See map.

For eating options, see here.

We are pleased to dedicate this conference to professor PAULO RIBENBOIM to mark his 90th anniversary:

''Les nombres, des amis qui nous donnent des problèmes''

Conférence grand public

Jean-Marie De Koninck (Laval) - La vie secrète des mathématiques

Plenary Speakers

Henri Darmon (McGill)
Andrew Granville (Montréal)
Joseph Oesterlé (Paris VI)
Ken Ono (Emory)
Bjorn Poonen (MIT)
Damien Roy (Ottawa)
Dinesh Thakur (Rochester)
Jared Weinstein (Boston University)
Melanie Wood (Wisconsin-Madison)

Invited Speakers

Fabrizio Andreatta (Milan)
Alex Bartel (Glasgow)
Laurent Berger (Lyon)
Pierre Charollois (Jussieu)
Huayi Chen (Paris 7) 
Vladimir Dokchitser (KCL)
Sary Drappeau (Aix-Marseille)
Tom Fisher (Cambridge)
Dimitris Koukoulopoulos (Montréal)
Holly Krieger (Cambridge)
Youness Lamzouri (York)
Jaclyn Lang (Max Planck)
Robert Lemke Oliver (Tufts)
Florian Luca (Witwatersrand)
Steven Miller (Williams College)
Yiannis Petridis (UCL)
Siddarth Sankaran (Manitoba)
Will Sawin (Columbia/Clay)
Damaris Schindler (Utrecht)
Arul Shankar (Toronto)
Vinayak Vatsal (UBC)
Stefano Vigni (Genova)
Michel Waldschmidt (Jussieu)
David Zywina (Cornell)

There will also be a number of contributed talks during the conference.


  • The closest hotel is Hotel Universel. (12 minutes by foot from the math. dep.).
  • For people who are looking for a cheaper aleternative to the Hotels, we have a few rooms available in apartments. These apartments are located in
    Résidences étudiantes le Sommet
    click here to see their location. Each apartment has 3 separate bedrooms (each equipped with a double bed), a nice kitchen, a bathroom (sink + shower) separated from a small WC (sink+toilet) and a balcony (Download the pdf ). These apartments are located 15 minutes by foot from the conference site and are 3 minutes away from a grocery store. These rooms are very limited in number and we shall give priority to the students. The cost for one room is 65$ per night (taxes included). If you are interested to have one of them please send an email to Hugo Chapdelaine .
  • Participants who would like to share a room may use this forum to find roommates.
  • Travel information

  • Attendees who are not Canadian residents should check on Canada's current entry requirements in advance of their travel here. In particular, there is a new entry requirement since 2016:

    "An electronic travel authorization (eTA) is required for all visa-exempt foreign nationals, except United States (U.S.) citizens and certain other small groups."

  • Tourism in Quebec city
  • Organizers

    Local Organizing Committee

    Hugo Chapdelaine
    Jean-Marie De Koninck
    Antonio Lei
    Claude Levesque

    Scientific Committee

    Kathrin Bringmann (University of Cologne)
    Nils Bruin (Simon Fraser University)
    Gérard Freixas (CNRS - Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu)
    Stephen Kudla (University of Toronto)
    Matilde Lalin (Université de Montréal)
    Antonio Lei (Université Laval)
    Christelle Vincent (University of Vermont)